How to Empty the Trash in Gmail

There are two ways to remove emails from Gmail: “Archive” and “Delete”. When you delete an email, it is sent to the Trash, where it stays for 30 days. You can also empty it sooner to instantly save space.

While “archived” email is not actually removed, “deleted” emails are eventually gone forever. Gmail keeps it in the Trash for 30 days just in case you change your mind. After that, they’re gone forever, but you can speed up the process if you like.

To empty the Trash, you’ll need to open Gmail in a desktop browser or on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device. Use the ‘hamburger’ menu button in the upper left corner of the screen to expand the menu – if it isn’t already expanded – and select ‘Trash’.

Faucet "waste" in the sidebar.

At the top of the screen, you will see a message stating that the Trash has been deleted after 30 days. Select “Empty Trash Now” to do so now.

Choose "Empty trash now" To do so immediately.

The confirmation message will confirm that you want to empty the Trash. Select “Blank” to continue.

Sure "empty" moving forward.

Thats all about it. Enjoy a strict digital trash can and a little more space in your Google account.

Related: How to unarchive an email in Gmail


Leave a Comment