The Ashes: Another batting slump leaves England in trouble despite late wickets in Hobart | Cricket News

Australia closes at 37-3 after the second day of the fifth Ash Test in Hobart; England struggled with bats again as they were thrown in 188 in response to the first innings of the 303 hosts. Stewart Broad becomes pioneer in capturing Ashes’ share in England as tourists claim three times late

Last update: 1/15/22/11:55 AM

Rory Burns ran out without a goal as England went out on the cheap again in Hobart

England face a battle to avoid another defeat from the Ashes after landing a final beating despite a delay that gave them a glimmer of hope in the Fifth Test.

Having left Australia for just under an hour on day two in Hobart, England found themselves slipping onto the field in the final hour and 25 minutes of the third session having succumbed to 188 throughout 47.4 to give up the first. Tinnitus deficit 115.

Pat Cummins had a 4-45 and Mitchell Stark 3-53 as the hosts had regular breakouts with Chris Wooks (36) and Joe Root (34) only getting 30 points despite a number of starting players.

  • Australia closes 37-3, ahead of 152, in Hobart
  • Steve Smith (17 no), Scott Poland (3 no)
  • Stuart Broad became a pioneer in taking the Ashes’ stake in England
  • England came out for 188 in 47.4 sums
  • Pat Cummins (4-45), Mitchell Stark (3-53)
  • Australia 303 are all in the first rounds

Stuart Broad disqualified David Warner in the first round of Australia’s second round, the Australian opener who collected the pair, to become England’s leading wicketman in Ashes cricket, surpassing Sir Ian Bothham, and when Woakes eliminated Marnus Labuschagne the score was 5-2.

That became 33-3 when Mark Wood Usman Khawaja hung behind him with a frightening delivery but Steve Smith (17 No) and Scott Boland (3 no) held out for the logs as Australia reached 37-3, by 152.

What then?

England women They began their bid to reclaim The Ashes on January 20th with the first three internationals in T20. Whiteball matches are followed by a stand-alone test match and then three internationals for one day.

The last time England won the Ashes was in 2014, with defending champions Australia in 2015 and 2019 winning a series of draws in Australia in 2017.


Leave a Comment